Board Members

Mr Finbarr Condon


Mr Finbarr Condon

Director of Higher Surgical Training







Mr Mark Dolan


Mr Mark Dolan

Honorary Treasurer 

Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon

Spinal Surgeon




Mr. Niall Hogan

Mr. Niall Hogan

Honorary Secretary









Mr Paddy Kenny

Mr Paddy Kenny

Joint National Clinical Lead of the National Clinical Programme for Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery.

Member of the RCSI Committee for Surgical Affairs

Chairman of the Irish National Orthopaedic Register.

Member of the Steering Group of the Irish Hip Fracture Database

Member of the Lower Limb Arthroplasty Committee

Board Member of the Faculty of Sports and Exercise Medicine

Chairman of the Reconstruction and Ongoing Care Subgroup of the National Trauma Steering Committee.

Member of the National Office of Clinical Audit (NOCA) Governance Board

Member of the Royal College of Surgeon’s Committee for Surgical Affairs. 

Chairman of the Training Programme for the IITOS

Honorary Secretary of the IITOS from 2003 – 2011, 2013.    

Mr. David Moore


Mr David Moore

Committee Membership

Council of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland

RCSI College Board

RCSI Court of Examiners Executive Committee

Joint Committee on Intercollegiate  Examinations (JCIE)

Chairman of the RCSI Academic Council. 

RCSI  Finance Committee

RCSI Medicines and Health Sciences Board.

Steering Committee of the Irish National Orthopaedic Register..

Council, Irish Institute of Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery

Board of Governors National Office of Clinical Audit.

Steering Committee of the Irish Hip Fracture Database

Network Organisation of Trauma Network Policy Group

Leadership Roles

Joint Clinical Lead in Trauma and Orthopaedic Clinical Programme

Chairman - Department Of Trauma and Orthopaedics, Our Lady's Children's Hospital, Crumlin

Past President (2007 – 2013), Irish Institute of Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery




Professor John O'Byrne

Professor John O'Byrne

President IITOS

Abraham Colles Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery,

Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland.

Founder & Director – Taught MCh Programme, RCSI.

Established in 2009, it was an innovative programme with taught modules and an original research component.  There were 55 students enrolled in the MCh programme for  2014-15.


Professor O’Byrne is currently working alongside Professor Fergal O’Brien on the development on novel biomaterials and surgical devices for cartilage and osteochondral repair.  He and Prof O’Brien are co-PIs on €1.3 million SFI-HRB Translational Research Award which began in 2012. 

Professor O’Byrne is also a PI in the €50 million SFI-funded AMBER Centre.

He holds multiple patents in medical devices.


Professor O’Byrne has a large clinical practice, specialising in hip and knee surgery.  He has two/three full operating lists per week, predominantly hip and knee arthroplasty, but also arthroscopy and sports injuries.

His practice is based at Cappagh National Orthopaedic Hospital, Mater Private Hospital and Sports Surgery Clinic, Santry.

Director, Irish Institute of Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery

Executive Committee member, Irish Orthopaedic Association (IOA)


Professor O’Byrne has published two textbooks and authored over 100 publications.



Mr Eoin Sheehan

Mr Eoin Sheehan

Assistant Director of Training

Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, Philadelphia, Rothman InstituteAdult Reconstruction, Hip & Knee Replacements and Revision 2009-2010

Society memberships

Specialty Society Memberships

American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons

Additional Society Memberships

Irish Institute for Trauma and Orthopaedic SurgeryIrish Orthopaedic AssociationAmerican Association of Hip and Knee SurgeonsAmerican Academy of Orthopaedic SurgeonsSICOT/SIROT Internationl Member